top of page
  • Saw Htoo

Project 3: Magic Book

Updated: Apr 7


Date: 2/20/23

I want to use a book for this project and have objects flow out from it as it opens, that is the idea. I started taking photos


At some point, I forgot to adjust the white level for the camera, so the images and video look different. Over the next few days, I went to different places to retake my plate.


This is what I end up with:


Camera movement and tracking:


 

Date: 2/24/24

I also wasn't able to get a good tracking with the video. I was struggling to get the tracking work. I found out that the position of the object matters, if the geo object were too far or too close it wouldn't line up with the scene.



I set up all this geo for me to turn individual pages, and I used deform bend to create the motion.















I also struggle to get the projection to work on the object.


 

Date: 3/3/24

The Texture Projection does work, the texture will show in the viewport. I was out of memory which doesn't render it.


I used the first frame of the video, took it into Photoshop, and removed the book to create a clean plate.

In Nuke, I tracked the video so I could create a Transform(match-move) from it to give it to the roto. Using the roto, I select the area I want to remove.

The track didn't exactly match so I have to do a little bit of cleanup. I keyframe transform to move the roto and color correct it.

I was having difficulty getting the tracking on the original video, and the tracking didn't get what I wanted when I added it to the roto. I keyframe the transform node and it works much better for me.


 

Date: 3/5/24


Work in Progress



FINAL RENDER:



bottom of page